Tuesday, November 13, 2007

Another award surprise

Boy am I glad I didn't try to predict how the MLB postseason awards would play out.

I would have missed on the NL Rookie of the Year and definitely would have whiffed on the AL Cy Young, which was presented Tuesday to Cleveland's C.C. Sabathia.

Sabathia finished with a substantial voting advantage over Boston's Josh Beckett, the majors' lone 20-game winner.

Their numbers were similiar, nearly identical. The only difference was Sabathia threw 40 more innings than Beckett.

Regardless, Sabathia's performance certainly was Cy Young worthy. However, I'm sure Beckett is plenty happy with his second World Series championships.


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home